The Prime Minister of Barbados (The Hon. Erskine Sandiford) in 1987 presented the idea of establishing a Regional Parliament, representing the people of the Region. This idea was presented at the Eighth Conference of the Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community held in Saint Lucia.

He thought that in that way the broad masses of Caribbean people could make their wishes known.

At the Ninth Meeting of the Conference, a paper was presented outlining this proposal.

In March 1990, the representatives of the Committee, which was established to further refine the proposal, and of the CARICOM Secretariat agreed on a Draft Inter-Governmental Agreement. This Draft Agreement was prepared for signature and ratification by Member States.


On August 3, 1994, the Inter-Governmental Agreement entered into force and consultations began with Barbados to host the Inaugural Session of the ACCP.


The Assembly consists of representatives of Member States of the Community elected or appointed by their Parliaments. Each Member State is entitled to not more than four (4) representatives at meetings of the Assembly and each Associate Member not more than two (2) representatives.


The objectives of the ACCP are to: involve the people of the Community through their representatives in the process of consolidating and strengthening the Community; provide opportunities for involvement in the issues of the integration process by Members of Parliament in each Member State and Associate Member of the Community; provide a forum for people of the Community to make their views known through their representatives; provide a more frequent mechanism to monitor policies of the Community; provide enhanced opportunities for the co-ordination of foreign policies of Member States; promote greater under-standing among Member States and Associate Members for the purpose of realising and safeguarding the ideals and principles of democratic governments in the Community and facilitating the economic and social advancements of their peoples; encourage the adoption by the Governments of Member States of the Community of a common policy on economic, social, cultural, scientific and legal matters deliberated upon by the Assembly.


The ACCP is a deliberative and consultative body for the discussion of policies, programmes and other matters falling within the scope of the Treaty. In carrying out its functions, the ACCP may make recommendations to the Conference, the Council and the various institutions of the Community and the Secretariat; discuss and make recommendations on any matter within the scope of the objectives of the Community; discuss and make recommendations on any matter referred to it by the Conference, the Council or any Institution or Associate Institution; and adopt resolutions on any issue or matter arising under the Treaty.

However, the ACCP is not allowed to discuss or adopt resolutions on matters which fall exclusively within the domestic jurisdiction of a Member State or Associate Member of the Community.

To date, thirteen Member States and one Associate Member of the Community are Parties to the Inter-Governmental Agreement.

The Inaugural Meeting of the ACCP was held on May 27-29, 1996, in Barbados. The Second Meeting of the ACCP was held on 14-15 October 1999, in Grenada. The Third Meeting of the ACCP was held on 17-20 November 2000, in Belize.

13 June 2002.

Agreement establishing the Assembly of Caribbean Community Parliamentarians (ACCP)
Report of the Technical Sub Group on the Assembly of Caribbean Community Parliamentarians

2011 Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat. All Rights Reserved. P.O. Box 10827, Georgetown, GUYANA.
Tel: (592) 222 0001-75 Fax: (592) 222 0171 | E-mail your comments and suggestions to: | SiteMap