Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)
The OECS was established by the Treaty of Basseterre signed on June 18, 1981 in an effort to deepen the sub-regional arrangements among the then WISA Members.

The Objectives of the OECS are to: promote co-operation among its Members and defend their sovereignty, territorial integrity; promote economic integration; assist them in meeting their international obligations and responsibilities; and establish wherever possible, arrangements for joint overseas representation and common services.

The OECS comprises Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines. Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands were admitted to the Organisation as Associate Members in 1995 and 1984 respectively. As Associate Members they participate in all the Committees of the Organisation except those related to Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security.

The OECS is governed by The Authority (Heads of Government) comprising the Prime Ministers/Chief Ministers from all of the Member States. Supporting the Authority is: the Foreign Affairs Committee, the Defence and Security Committee, the Economic Affairs Committee (which oversees the operations of the East Caribbean Common Market) and a Central Secretariat.

The Central Secretariat is the principal administrative organ of the OECS.

The OECS has its headquarters in Saint Lucia and is headed by a Director General.

Directors General of the OECS:

Dr Vaughn Lewis (Saint Lucia), 1982-1995
Mr Swinburne Lestrade (Dominica), 1995-2000
Mr George Goodwin (Antigua and Barbuda) 2000- present (Ag).

For more information please goto
2011 Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat. All Rights Reserved. P.O. Box 10827, Georgetown, GUYANA.
Tel: (592) 222 0001-75 Fax: (592) 222 0171 | E-mail your comments and suggestions to: | SiteMap