Press release 22/2007
(25 January 2007)

  (CARICOM Secretariat, Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown, Guyana) Come Monday, 29 January, 2007, Grenada will become the eighth Member State to have introduced the CARICOM Passport.

The introduction by Grenada means that more than half of the 15-member Caribbean Community will have introduced the CARICOM Passport to nationals.

On Thursday, 24 January 2007, the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago became the seventh Member State and the second country since 2007 to have introduced its CARICOM Passport.

Saint Lucia, which is the first for 2007, introduced its CARICOM Passport on 16 January 2007, becoming the sixth Member State to have introduced the Passport.

In 2005, Suriname was the first, followed by St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Kitts and Nevis and Dominica to have issued the CARICOM Passport, while Antigua and Barbuda issued the new Passport in 2006.

All other Member States are expected to introduce the CARICOM Passport by 31 December 2007.

Those States, which have not yet done so, are attempting to deplete their existing stock, before issuing the new CARICOM Passport.


2011 Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat. All Rights Reserved. P.O. Box 10827, Georgetown, GUYANA.
Tel: (592) 222 0001-75 Fax: (592) 222 0171 | E-mail your comments and suggestions to: | SiteMap